Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I really love my Kreg Jig

I really love my Kreg Jig

Hey gang. I got the Kreg K4 for Christmas. Now, I'm new to woodworking and general carpentry (I've never done a dovetail or a mortise/tenon - probably never will) but boy was using this jig a real charm.

I built out a miter saw stand using the Kreg. Gosh I was assembling things solid and relatively quickly. I've read on a number of sites that the Kreg Pocket Hole w/ their self tapping industrial screws are as strong or stronger then a mortise and tenon. I don't know if thats true or not, but it seems exceptionally stout to me.

This has me rethinking how to make workbench 2.0. Without all the complicated joinery that many of the plans call for, I might be able to get away with something functional, sturdy, and actually DOABLE for me.

Love this jig.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Rees View Post
    I've read on a number of sites that the Kreg Pocket Hole w/ their self tapping industrial screws are as strong or stronger then a mortise and tenon.
    Glad you like the jig. I'm at this point a bit less enthusiastic than yourself but still like the pocket hole system for many things. I'd qualify it as "Real handy". Not sure a work bench is one of those things. I don't know what the test to decide that the pocket hole screw is stronger than the M&T, but I'd guess its a strange one at least. My independent testing and research concludes that the M&T if reasonably well made will kick the Bleep bleeping bleep bleep out of the pocket hole screw over the long haul under heavy stress in all directions, particularly in a situation like a work bench frame.

Perhaps if Kreg made the "Pocket Lag Jig" and used timberlock Fasten Masters that would be the way to go(and you could completely jig that up on a drill press), but until then, I'm leaning on the side of tradition personally and going with the M&T for heavy work.