Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: ...for Scarey Sharpeners... MKII Power..

...for Scarey Sharpeners... MKII Power..

I'm not sure if I can get away with posting a power tool question "over here", but...

After spending about 2 hours tonight resharpening a couple of skew chisels and my Veritas marking knife, I am considering the Veritas MkII Power sharpener. I know. Electrons have to die to use this. But I am tired.

I have been using paper for about 4 years. I am not at all disatisfied with the results or the cost. I have found that oiling the paper it will last a long long time. I do final hone on green rouge on a board. With chisels that allow me to use a fixture, I can turn them out quickly. But these angled tools are really slow for me to hand hold and get a good edge. It seems to me that the maintenance (flattening) on water stones would about eat up most time savings on the paper. I've not tried them and I'm sure that some folks will say that isn't true. But I am just looking for the quickest way to ge the job done *right*. If a few watts die, so be it! Birthday is coming up soon so cost is no problem. At least I don't *think* it is.

Part of my "struggle" tonight came from using my marking knife against a metal straight edge which *killed* my nicely flattened back. What do you do when you need to make a deep cut in an exact position in a straight line?

Thanks for any thoughts.

David
    Last edited by David Rose; 10-21-2004 at 3:45 AM.

David,

Take a look at this thread http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=13057
    Jeff

Quote Originally Posted by David Rose
    I'm not sure if I can get away with posting a power tool question "over here", but...

After spending about 2 hours tonight resharpening a couple of skew chisels and my Veritas marking knife, I am considering the Veritas MkII Power sharpener. I know. Electrons have to die to use this. But I am tired.
    David,