Thread: Question about HVLP sprayers

Question about HVLP sprayers

Hello all

I am building a house for a guy and one room is covered in pine t&g car siding. The ceiling is cathedral style on a 9/12 pitch. He wants it finished with clear lacquer. I think it would be much easier to install the car siding and then finish so it would all be sealed. Now for the question.....i dont own a hvlp sprayer, nor have i ever used one. I think one would be just the ticket for this finishing project though. Am i on the right track? I assume i would have no problems spraying the ceiling since the pitch is so sharp and the walls dont concern me at all. Lookin for someone with hvlp experience to lemme know if i am crazy, and a recommendation of a good model to purchase. I have been dying to buy one for a couple years so this is the perfect excuse i hope.

thanks

That job should be fine with a sprayer. I use (on furniture) an Accuspray unit with a three-stage turbine. IIRC, it cost $800 or so. There's ones from Fuji and others in that class that should do as well. I'd previously tried lower-cost spray systems, but didn't get satisfactory results.

I spray waterborne "lacquer". There's no explosion hazard, and no lacquer thinner to rot your brain. If you're going to shoot a whole ceiling's worth of real lacquer, use lots of ventilation.
    Last edited by Jamie Buxton; 02-04-2010 at 1:07 AM.

Ah - you don't have to have an HVLP system. I have an HVLP4 and it's not all it's out to be, you can do it with a good standard gun. really since your talking lacquer, dries awfull quick.....Heck a HVLP makes to much heat and you would have to add retarder probably anyway..............Oh I have a Fuji 4 stage and love it, you don't necessarily need a HVLP to do the job, but damn good excuse to buy 1 eh.
    Last edited by Mike Adler; 02-04-2010 at 1:10 AM.