Thread: Blast Gate Plans

Blast Gate Plans

Boy, do I ever hope I'm doing this right? I can't seem to find the correct way to enter a new post or where to enter it!!!!
    Sooooo here goes!!

I would like plans, pictures, specs, materials to use, how to, (and anything else I can get on this subject)on how to make my own blast gates.

I will look forward to your replies,
    Thanx,
    J.Roy

I know a fellow that makes them out of MDF. Perhaps he'll catch this thread and reply.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

Not sure I was the fellow but here is a thread I did on building mine. http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...NG+BLAST+GATES I don't know why searching for this is so hard, but I struggle to find this everytime I look for it. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.

Welcome Jerry. Here's a thread that may give you a few ideas:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...ght=blast+gate
    "I love the smell of sawdust in the morning".
    Robert Duval in "Apileachips Now". - almost.

Laserpro Spirit 60W laser, Corel X3
    Missionfurnishings, Mitchell Andrus Studios, NC

There is no right or wrong way to make a blast gate, but some features make some gates better than others. Here is what I would consider essential for any gate:

1. Self cleaning- slide goes all the way through
    2. When closed seals well and does not leak.
    3. Is sized to fit your ducting and flex hose
    4. Is easy to operate- smooth sliding action, even when DC is operating
    5. Is easy and inexpensive to make