Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: workshop floor rehab

workshop floor rehab

I need to replace the concrete floor in the older of two buildings that make up my shop/studio - it was originally built as a 25 x 35 garage. This is a rough poured single slab with a crown in the middle and a slope of about 5 inches toward what was the doors and is now the newer second building.

I have been putting this off for a couple of years. The ultimate would be to have a heated wood floor - but I see no way to put a floor over over the current uneven concrete one. I recently got some estimates to remove all the old slab and install - stone/ vapor barrier / rigid insulation and then a 4" finished slab with pex pipe for a future heated floor - 15k

I did not price out having a proper floor structure installed over the whole thing -- then I would need a foundation in the middle for the 25" span. I would in effect be making a closed craw space between the rafters and the old floor.

Am I missing something -- anybody do this?

I'll be doing this exact project once the weather breaks. My shop is smaller than yours at 20 by 19 and I got a few estimates to tear out the floor and re-pour for around $2500. After talking to a bunch of people I decided I'm gonna take on the job myself, with the help of some friends who have done masonry work in the past.

If you have footings installed and the actual garage isn't sinking it shouldn't be a terribly tough job. I'll be renting a jackhammer and a dumpster for the demolition, then having the concrete delivered after I run my re-bar grid and make my moldings for the floor. For my 20 by 19 floor with a 4" slab, I'll be paying around $600 for concrete, which isn't bad at all. That 15k figure you got was mostly for the labor involved in ripping out the old slab, which is cake for the contractors who have all the equipment to get it done fast. Save a ton of money and do it yourself, it'll be some work but it's definatly worth the money saved.