Thread: More than 1 chuck ????

More than 1 chuck ????

Ok I'm a turning newbie - so new in fact I'm still waiting for the purchased lathe to arrive. I think that comment was an important based on the thread title. So, why would anyone need more than 1 chuck?

Different chucks accept different jaws and are useful for different scales of work. It can also be convenient to have different chucks set up for different tasks and not have to be constantly changing jaws.

Welcome to turning. Congrats on the new soon to be lathe.
    Having multiple chucks allows you to leave a project chucked and off the lathe while turning another piece or project(this keeps the piece centered). The other thing having multiple chucks allows you to leave them set up with specific jaws(time saver but your time has to be worth quite a bit). There are also different types of chucks... I assume you where speaking of the 4 jaw verity, but there are also Jacobs chucks, eccentric chucks, jam chucks, Donut chucks, and expanding chucks... oh and collet chucks. while these aren't necessary they do open up your horizons for new adventure in the vortex.

Personally for starters I'd recommend a 4 jaw(and a good set of jaws) and a Jacobs to start with. And as the desire or need arises either make or purchase the other types. You should also probably have a face plate or two and a screw chuck. But I don't think it really is necessary to have multiple 4 jaw chucks.

I think that covers all of it but iI often omit something, I'm sure others will chime in with what I missed.

Hope this helps.

Brian

I'd like to have at least one more to add to mine. I have two Nova Supernova2 chucks. And I have 4 different sets of jaws for those. Then I also have a Nova Titan, which is for larger work, with one set of Power Grip Jaws for it. The other jaws will interchange with the SN2s and the Titan, which is why I like the Nova chucks.