Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cheap Sharpening?

Cheap Sharpening?

I am sure the subject of sharpening has been beaten into the ground, and is starting to come out the other side, but here goes anyways:
    I am still very new to the hobby, so I still don't have a good way of sharpening yet. My uncle sent me some sharp chisels to practice cutting dovetails, and they have been working great.
    But eventually, I will have to sharpen them, so I was wondering what the best (read dirt cheapest, but still works good) method is.
    I have been considering water stones, sandpaper slightly glued to plate glass, and soaked wet/dry sandpaper on granite.
    Now, I would like to have a super sharpening system, but I know that's not happening any time soon, so here is my uneducated thoughts on each one:
    Water stones would be really nice, but as I'm 15, I can barely afford anything, and I think that might still be out of my price range.
    I think that sandpaper on glass would also be good, but I just feel like the residue from the spray adhesive would build up and not provide a flat surface anymore, though I'm sure that's totally ridiculous.
    The last one I find most fascinating. I saw it in a Rockler/Woodcraft (I can't remember which) catalog, and they said that all you have to do is soak wet/dry sandpaper in water, and it will somehow (due to suction or something I guess) fasten itself to the granite, and stay there so you can do your sharpening.
    The last option sounds the cheapest, though I haven't really looked into it that much, as I could just buy a slab of granite, and go to town.
    What are everybody's thoughts and suggestions on this? is there a wonderfully cheap and perfect way that I have overlooked?
    Thanks.

A polished granite tile from Home Depot - about $5 - or a thick piece of glass.

3M abrasives from Lee Valley or Tools For Working Wood - $8 to $14
    http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.a...04&cat=1,43072