Thread: Left-handed

Left-handed

I have little experience with hand tools, so this may seem like a silly question to some of you. I am left handed and am wondering what limitations I might encounter in hand tool selection. I can see that a different orientation of the vises on a workbench would be desirable. I would expect that some planes may not easily be used by a left-handed person. Is that so? Are there other hand tools that might be problematic? Any advice will be helpful.

Blog Entries
    Tom,

Welcome to the Neander World.

I am somewhat ambidextrous and find very few planes that are handed. A lot of the specialty planes like the #45, 55, 78, 95, 140 and many like them are more right handed than left handed. There is some adaptability to being used left handed by some of these.

Some modern equivalents to these are being made in both left and right handed versions.

My thoughts are dexterity can be taught to one's less used side. I may be totally wrong on this, but it does seem to work for me.

Most saws and planes are only handed to the extent of how their controls are set up. Then this is only in the way the wheel turns.

There are some tools that have finger grips shaped into the handles, but this is not real common. The handles on many rip saws have a "thumb" hole for two handed use. Not sure if these are set up more for primarily right handed use or if they are equally handed.

jim
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Tom,

Welcome to the wonderful world of handtools. I am a fellow portsider. So left handed as to be almost non-functional from the right side. My right side works fine but you wouldn't know it to watch me use a tool with my right hand. Jim is right, umm correct, most planes will work from either side. Those he listed are decidedly right handed but can be manipulated left handed with some practice.