Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about repairing taped sheetrock joints on garage ceiling

Question about repairing taped sheetrock joints on garage ceiling

Hello,

Let me first start by saying that I’ve never done sheetrock taping before.
    I need to “repair” most of all of the taped sheetrock joints on my garage ceiling. Over the years, some of the tape has come loose, and even where it has not come loose, it has split in places, so I’d like to clean it all up and make the ceiling look good again. There is no “texture” on the ceiling.

I’d prefer to use the adhesive tape, rather than the paper tape.

I have two basic questions.

One, should I thin the mud (joint compound) before applying it?

Two, can I get by with removing only the tape that has actually come loose and is hanging down?
    For the tape that hasn't come loose, I’d like to just tape over the tape that has split, etc., because I’m afraid that if I try to remove all of the existing tape, I may damage some of the sheetrock itself.

And of course, I’d appreciate any other suggestions that you may have to help me in this.

Thanks,
    Louis

I have found in the houses I've lived in, if I can catch an edge of the tape and pull, it will come off, even the sections that aren't damaged. The problem with trying to go over the cracks with the joint compound is it will just re-crack. Within days. I've used the mesh fiberglass that has some stickiness to it with good results. The other problem is the joints are always proud of the sheet rock, so going over it makes it harder to feather out to diminish the rise. I wouldn't thin the compound for this purpose. If you were using it to create texture, then yes, but not for doing joints.
    The thing I have learned doing this stuff is to not get in a hurry. Use several thin coats. Don't use thick coats. Feather out with knifes that start with a 6" and work up to a 12" blade on each side of the joint to help feather it out to disappear. Jim.