Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NO 4 w/ Sticker care?

NO 4 w/ Sticker care?

Hello everyone,

I am new to Sawmill Creek, and I recently aquired a Stanley NO 4 Bailey plane type 13 w/ a SW iron. It is in excellent condition and includes to original sticker. I would like for this to be a user plane and not just sit on a shelf all day.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to preserve the Stanley sticker?

Thank you in advance.

Blog Entries
    Ronald,

Welcome to the slippery slope.

If you do wish to preserve the sticker, in your case, the best way may be to buy a replacement handle and switch handles.

Some people go nuts with their wallets for the sticker.

jim
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Hi Jim,

Thanks for the welcome. I will probably install a replacement handle as you suggested. I wrap up the handle and tuck it away should I ever need to sell it one day.

Thanks,

Ron

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Koepke View Post
    Ronald,

Some people go nuts with their wallets for the sticker.

jim
    Talk about sticker shock....

Ron, you need to watch out about Jim. He's the keeper of the "slippery slope", and vile hand tool corruption runs through his Neanderthal veins. Welcome to the creek.

-Jerry

Ron,
    If you are planning on maintaining the collectability of the plane, I suggest you buy a replacement blade for it as well and tuck the original SW blade away with the stickered handle. Welcome to the creek!

Sell it!

Let someone else (collector) preserve it. Sell it for a bunch and then buy a new LV or LN instead. You will end up with a better plane this way.

Eric

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by jerry nazard View Post
    Talk about sticker shock....

Ron, you need to watch out about Jim. He's the keeper of the "slippery slope", and vile hand tool corruption runs through his Neanderthal veins. Welcome to the creek.