Thread: First Sawmill Trip w/ Found Wood

First Sawmill Trip w/ Found Wood

Hello Everyone,

This is only my second of third post on the forums, and so far I have enjoyed reading the responses to my questions. I am new to woodworking, and I am very glad I found this community.

As the title mentions, I am planning my first trip to a small local saw mill with some free wood. The wood comes from a neighbor and it is cherry, oak (not sure what type), and elm. My neighbor had the logs cut into fairly short lengths; many are right around 36" which is shorter than I would like, but it is free. The diameters range from 18-24" so I hope that I can get some decent boards out of these logs.

The sawyer I spoke with said he would charge $75/hour to band saw the logs since they are under 7' in length and would require two handlers. That explanation seemed reasonable to me. I imagine the extra handler is need since the log has less mass to keep it stable when going through the band saw.

I hope I can get some nice boards out of these logs for small wall cabinets, jewelry boxes, etc. I have a few questions, and I would love to hear any feedback or advise.

Does that price sound reasonable to anyone else? ($75/hr)

What type of cut should I ask for to get the best yield, plain sawn?

I am coating the ends with a latex spray paint to minimize any checking, will this suffice? (I'm familiar with Anchorseal but it would be a drive for me to purchase some)

As far as drying the wood, I am considering building a solar kiln or stacking/stickering and putting the wood outside or in my garage to dry.

Regards,

Ron

Hi Ronald. You did not mention where you are located; in parts of the country $75.00 is the norm and in other parts it would be high. I don't get the "two handlers" part though - most millers have one off-bearer and less are needed with short logs since one person can easily handle the boards.