Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guidelines for workshop safety

Guidelines for workshop safety

Tullies' "Stupid, stupid, stupid" thread was very enlightening. The basic lesson was "don't use a fence when cross-cutting on a table-saw". Of course the danger is obvious when one stops and thinks about the mechanics of what is happening. But as a newbie, I've done this many times, simply because "I didn't know what I didn't know."

So I was wondering if the old hands on SMC could offer other basic guidelines for workshop safety. I'm thinking particularly of practices that are not immediately obvious, but would be unpleasant to learn the hard way.

Thanks!

Bravo Niel, like you I am open to all advice and lessons learned from all the experienced people here. I found the following useful specifically related to table saw safety:

http://www.woodcraft.com/Articles/Ar...?articleid=317

http://www.woodworkersguide.com/2008...ious-business/

The Wood Whisperer has some good advice in this video:
    http://thewoodwhisperer.com/episode-...aw-experience/

I believe he says something to the effect of, "If something does not feel right, stop, do not push through, just stop."

P.S. Tullie's thread motivated me to do something I have not caught up on - build new cross cutting sleds. One for large pieces and one smaller I will use more often.
    Last edited by Dan Karachio; 04-22-2010 at 5:28 PM.

One of the best guidelines I know of is to Engage the Brain before engaging the tool!

My best advise would be to learn how to use each tool safely and what are safe and, more importantly, UNSAFE operations (climb cutting with a router, etc).

My other piece of advice is to never use a tools when distracted, pressured for time, or tired. I don't do this for a living, so I have the option that when any of those things happen, I just quit for the time being and do something else.