Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Too much from Proshop TS?

Too much from Proshop TS?

I have a Jet Proshop. I have no problems with 4/4 oak or maple. I have no experience with 8/4 stock at all. I have some cutting boards on the menu and wanted to get started tonite. I milled an 8/4 hard maple board as usual, then went to rip to final width on the TS. It didn't like it very much. Sounded very underpowered and bogged down for the task. Burned it pretty good as well (I know maple has a tendancy for this. I usually don't have this issue with 4/4). Rather than push it, I closed up shop until I get some feedback on this one. Am I asking too much from my saw or is there another issue I have to deal with to get it correct? As a sidenote, I just cleaned my blade (Freud Premier Fusion) about a week ago. I also double checked my setup. My blade is ~.001 out and I have my fence toed out ~.002.

I used to cut 8/4 with an old craftsman 1950's saw with a 3/4 horse motor and completely out of adjustment without problem. If that saw could cut it anything could. I wonder if your setup tools are off because it sounds more like a misalignment issue then a power issue.

In the foothills of the NM Sandia Mountains
    I never rip to final width, I always leave the board a little fat and come back to final width with a nice slow & even feed rate.
    Your Jet Proshop with 1 1/2 - 1 3/4 hp should be up to the task.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

torque amplification