Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Router preference - PC 890 or Ridgid?

Router preference - PC 890 or Ridgid?

I'm new to dovetails, and I spent a couple of frustrating hours today trying to get a jig setup. Part of the problem is that a couple of years ago, being a beginner and not knowing any better, I bought a cheap Ryobi router that didn't accept standard guide bushings. Then, when a need arose for template routing, I bought this useless Milescraft router base with plastic bushings. So after fighting this setup for a while today, I gave up and decided to go out and get a decent router and bushing set. After a little research, I decided to get a 2 1/4 hp router with variable speed, a DC hookup, and above the table height adjustment so, in addition to hand use, I can drop in into a soon to be built router table. Also, I wanted something in stock locally so I can finish up these shop drawers this week while I have some shop time. At Lowe's, I found the PC 890 set with the fixed and plunge bases on sale for 199. They wouldn't accept my harbor freight 20% off coupon, but I bought it anyway. I decided to try my luck at Home Depot, and they did take the coupon, which got me $40 off the $199 Ridgid kit.

So, one of these is going back. Is there any advantage of one over the other? The specs are very similar. The through column dust collection on the PC looks a little nicer than the plastic attachments on the Ridgid, and I like the placement of the power switch on the PC (it can be reached without taking your hand off the handles). But I like the lifetime service agreement on the Ridgid. Does anyone who has used either of these have a preference for one over the other? Thanks for your advice and opinions.

Lee

Of the two PC for me. The Rigid is harder to move from base to base, the motor is sorta tall and makes it top heavy and there is a decent amount of slop in the plunge base.