Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Byrd Head worth the money?

Byrd Head worth the money?

Let me start off by saying hi since i'm new to the boards. I'm just getting into woodworking and i've just "finished" building the shop that i'll be using to renovate my old 1903 Village Colonial.

I guess my question is this: are the Byrd spiral cutting heads really worth the cash to upgrade from HSS? I currently have Grizzly 8" Jointer and a Dewalt 735 13 inch planner that I could upgrade. Also on a side note does anyone know what the associated cost is for the byrd carbide blades?

I bought my first Byrd head equipped machine a few months ago, a PM15 planer.
    IMO, they are worth every penny! No blade change hassles, no wondering "how bad will this board tear out?"......

I ran some Hickory glue-ups through fro a friend, they came out 99.9% tear-out free. No wear or adverse effects on the knives. With HSS knives, they would have been ready for a re-grind, not to mention what the finish would have looked like...
    Ed

Keith,

Welcome to the Creek.

Is the Byrd head worth it? I suppose that's a decision everyone has to make for themself.

I am getting ready to drop the hammer on a Grizzly 8" jointer and I am going to spend the extra bucks and get it with the Grizzly version of the Byrd head. When I am in the middle of doing a project, I don't want to be spending time messing with a blade alignment. Consequently, I see a Grizzly 0490X in my immediate future.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

The difference between the byrd and shelix is the orientation of the cutters to rotation axis, right?

They are worth it to me because I hate changing blades. I put one in my 8" shop fox jointer and am waiting to pull the trigger on a 15" planer with one. It would not be worth it to me to put it in a lunchbox planer. I have a lunch box and it already has quick change knives. The cutters run about $4 each.

Quote Originally Posted by Nathan Palenski View Post