Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you move logs?

How do you move logs?

I want to be able to move logs from my driveway to my backyard. What's the best way to move them? I'm thinking the biggest log I'd encounter would be about 24" in diameter 8 feet long, and there is a slight downhill incline (but not enough space to roll them) to the back. I'm thinking a log arch might be the way to go. Not sure where to buy one of those though, any recommendations? Is it even realistic to handle those size logs without machinery?

I'm trying to get into milling my own boards, and am a total newbie to this. Any advice or where to look for tips about log handling would be helpful.

Do you live on acerage, have trees, plan on doing this (and things like it)again? Buy a tractor.

Do you live on a large lot and this is a one time or rare thing? Rent a tractor.

(Preferably a reasonably modern diesel with a loader....)

3. A log like the one you describe is going to weigh a lot -- probably more than 800 pounds. Even if you had a log arch, you'd still need some serious horsepower to drag it.

And once you got it to the back yard, you need a method of getting it onto the sawmill or sawbucks.

In my opinion, equipment would be very helpful. The alternative is to have three or four helpers with pickaroons and peavys. Using the peavys and some ramps, a small team could lift such logs.

We used these in high school, hooked to a pickup's towing hitch with chain. We weren't moving 24" trees though. All depends on the ground. A pickup over rocky terrain works fine, in the mud, no way.

http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...7445_200307445

I'd rent a tractor to move them or hire someone with a tractor to do it.
    Cody

Logmaster LM-1 sawmill, 30 hp Kioti tractor w/ FEL, Stihl 290 chainsaw, 300 bf cap. Solar Kiln

How about digging a trench and making a sluice? Just fill it with water when you want to use it. It could double as a moat for your house.

Or, move the tools to the log.