Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice

Need Advice

I'd like to try to make a box with a sliding dovetail lid . . . but I want the lid to look like the one in this drawing. I'm not certain how to go about making the lid and dovetail joints.

Could someone take me through the steps? I'm a rookie at this . . . your patience is appreciated! Thanks!

Sliding Lid (Small).jpg

Quote Originally Posted by Al Stramiello View Post
    I'd like to try to make a box with a sliding dovetail lid . . . but I want the lid to look like the one in this drawing. I'm not certain how to go about making the lid and dovetail joints.

Could someone take me through the steps? I'm a rookie at this . . . your patience is appreciated! Thanks!

Sliding Lid (Small).jpg
    The dovetail joints can be cut with a router, and are best done BEFORE the lid is profiled.

Make the box and lid ... all squared up then cut the dovetail on the box. Use the final bos dimensions to mark out the dovetail in the lid, then rout the lid. Do the lid profiling last.

There are probably many ways to do this .... That's how I might do it, at first sight

I'm sort of a visual learner kind of guy. Has anybody come across a tutorial on making lids this way? I've seen plenty of lids that slide in . . . but not like the one in the drawing.

Al,

I've never seen a tutorial on the subject, but I think Steve's approach is right on. This is a job that could be done more or less by hand, but by using the same dovetail router bit for both the box and lid, you can get a near perfect fit with minimal fuss. A dovetail plane could accomplish the same, but they're not so commonly found.

I'd hollow out the lid's underside before the final cut, or final fit, of the dovetails, in case removing that much material causes the lid to warp necessitating a re-flattening. Same with the box portion.

And I agree with Steve that the final refinement of the top's curve can be saved until last.