Thread: Cut to length or minimize planer snipe

Cut to length or minimize planer snipe

I'm new to dimensioning lumber. I have heard it suggested that I should cut my material to length to minimize loss in milling. I have also heard that I can eliminate planer snipe by leaving it long and cutting it off. Does the few thousandths of an inch of snipe merit the loss of potentially good lumber? In this case it is for a laminated bench top so I imagine that it is probably more important as face jointing two sniped pieces would in effect double the gap.

Your thoughts...

It is not possible to truly answer your question as your planer may not be adjusted properly to avoid a serious snipe. Here are a few suggestions to help avoid snipe: First,butt each successive piece against the piece going through the planer. This will avoid snipe,though the LAST piece you run through will get snipe. Lift up on the board as it emerges from the planer. This helps minimize snipe.

It costs money,but making your wood about 4" too long (or,however LONG your snipe is,maybe 2"? helps). How long is the snipe your planer makes?

Planers are not the easiest machine to adjust. If you have a proper,industrial planer,you should look at the manual and try to get the rollers and pressure bar properly adjusted. If it is a lunchbox planer,I don't know about those. Read the manual.

You definitely want to have no snipe for the glued up top you are making. They will show up badly in the finished top. Last attempt: Do you have a good jointer you could run the boards across to eliminate the snipe AFTER you ran them through the planer? PROVIDED the boards do not have a curve in them.