Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 6 or 1 or 1/2 dozen of the other

6 or 1 or 1/2 dozen of the other

I'm growing another year older and my wife and daughter want to get me a BD gift.
    I have the Sorby Sovereign handle and two 1/2" gouges for it. I was thinking that maybe a 3/8" should be next. Is there any difference other than preference from like P&N, Thompson and Sorby?
    Since I'm new to bowl turning, are there any other things I should put on the list? I don't have bowl calipers, but I do have spindle sets. The only DVD I have is Bowl Basics by Mahoney.
    Thanks for helping with my birthday.....
    Josh

A couple of ideas would be Bill Grumbine's DVDs, or Raffan's book "The Art of Turned Bowls - these are excellent source materials that you can refer to over and over.

For tools, I use a 3/8" and 1/4" Thompson detail gouges for finial work, but I also use them for detail work on bowls such as small beads, some detailing on the bowl bottoms, etc.

Then, there are always more chucks - can't have too many!!

Quote Originally Posted by John Keeton View Post
    Then, there are always more chucks - can't have too many!!
    I'm not thinking outside the box! Why so many chucks?

Two chucks can be handy. Dunno about more. A 3/8 bowl gouge is also very handy. I frequently use two or even three sizes on any one project as the work progresses.
    Richard in Wimberley

If somebody wanted to get me another Thompson bowl gouge, I'd trip over my feet to get at it. I use the 1/2 and 3/8 every time I turn. With this bigger lathe, a 5/8 gouge would be great. And I want a scraper, and a skew, and a .......

I just got a second chuck, and I'm not sure how I managed to live without it. I love DVD's, so it's hard to go wrong there. I use my vessel calipers a fair bit, so they are pretty handy. I've had my eye on a collet chuck for a little while. Wow, I just realized that I want a bunch of stuff. Happy birthday!