Thread: Is This Wood Worth Messing With?

Question Is This Wood Worth Messing With?

Hi guys & gals....

A neighbors tree was being serviced today and I got a couple pieces of limbs from the guy doing the work, he said it is Western Red Cedar.

I'm a newbie turner, only turned 40 or so pens so far but would like to expand my experience into bowls and other items using the Delta 46-460. I also need to make some handles for a couple Thompson bowl gouges

I've been admiring the work posted here for many months and you all are a great inspiration and I have learned a lot just reading everyone's posts

Is this stuff worth the attempt or firewood?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Sure... It's good for something. The cedar around here is pretty soft, but it turns easily. It's also fairly prone to cracking. With that said, it smells great, and if nothing else, it would be for practicing. Small limbs are great fodder for ornaments and end grain boxes. You might get a natural edge bowl out of the larger branch. Have some fun with it. You can always throw it away if you don't enjoy turning it.

Joe, as David said, all wood makes fine practice material - so give it a try. However, I would stick to hardwoods for the tool handles - the cedar probably isn't stout enough to handle that task safely.

Keep the wood even if it just used for practicing with. Make sure you seal the ends or the wood will crack real fast.

Thanks guys... I guess nearly any free wood is good practice wood

No intention of using this for the tool handles, I bought a couple pieces of Granadillo for those but I need to find a way to get them mounted. They are too big for the jaws and too hard for the spur center.

I plan on picking up some anchorseal tomorrow, hopefully the wood will still be okay.

Anyway... I'm open for suggestions on what orientation to turn the cedar pieces

Cedar is a good turning wood that can be cracky at times. Makes the shop smell good to.
    Bernie