Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is it? What should I do with it?

What is it? What should I do with it?

I'm new to turning. Until this recent addiction, I did mostly carveing and simple furniture. Recently we took a trip to Colorado to visit some of my wife's relatives. We visited her uncle, who has been a rockhound and woodworker for many years. He is not able to tinker anymore due to his health. He let me raid his woodpile and suggested I bring this home. He did'nt have to twist my arm. He could not recall where he came up with it.

I'm thinking it's some sort of cedar, I would love to chuck it up as is and turn a large bowl. The piece is very dry and probaly not to stable. I belive the orange is some kind of sealant. I scraped the outside with a pocket knife and the wood is fairly light. I'm thinking of making some pen blanks or bottle stops. Whaat do you think?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Maybe pen blanks and bottle stoppers from the scrap left overs but that needs to be turned whole.

"The best things in life are not things."

Looking at the first 2 pictures I'm thinking it is a petrified baked chicken!

Great looking wood it looks like a human heart. I would carve the inside out by hand.

I have no clue what it is but I'm with Kenneth, I think I'd do some hand carving on it!

MMc

I'm not sure what it might be, but for sure I would keep it in a cage till you are sure that it is dead.
    It does look like carving would be safer that turning. Or display it just as it is. It's kinda funky looking ....

Brian, you don't say, but looking at the pics that thing looks to be pretty large. I would be inclined to see if I could get a flat spot on the outside and glue of a tenon. Then, slowly, give it a turn and see what you have!! If it is bone dry, it is as stable as it will ever be.

Carve it into a cat cleaning itself.

Neil

About the same distance from most of you heading East or West.