Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Chainsaw recommendation

Question Chainsaw recommendation

I am looking for a chainsaw recommendation. I have not found the past threads that would probably answer my questions.

I am a barely experienced beginner, having gone through a couple of electric chainsaw-shaped objects that were the cheapest I could find after a storm.

Lots of oleander stands to cut, with clusters of 3" trunks.

The biggest project is a couple of long branches 8-9" in diameter that I want to remove to keep a big tree from tipping later on. Once it is down, I'll cut up for firewood.

Thanks.

Brian
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!

I've used a number of brands over the years including Homelite and Husqvarna. I find that, for my purposes, the best chain saw I've ever had was and is a Stihl. Hope this helps.

Stihl, Husky or Jonsered.
    The Huskys & J-reds are the same saws with cosmetic & ergonomic differences.
    Buy it from a servicing dealer, not a big box store. A good dealer will help you size the saw correctly and get one to fit your price range.

Be sure to budget some $$ for a good helmet system and chaps.

Ed

another vote for Stihl

I don't remember the model number but I've been very happy with my 18" Stihl. I use it for much the same purpose as you describe.

While I know I should maintain it better, I've never prepared it for the off-season yet it still starts quickly with fresh fuel come spring. I've had it for about 8 years now.

For very occasional use for small branches, I've also got an inexpensive battery powered B&D that works okay. I use it when I've got a couple of branches to prune that I missed when I went around with the gas operated saw.

Mitch

Brian, it's amazing, but I was just about to post the same question, just wasn't sure which forum it belonged in. But I am not sure if I can get a single chainsaw that will do everything I want: