Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Air Compressor - help me spend my money

Air Compressor - help me spend my money

I'm going to try this again after my first thread got lost due to site maintenance...

I used to have the 21 gallon HF oil lubed compressor before I moved but sold it instead of hauling it across the country. It served me well for what I used it for (vacuum press & general shop stuff), but was very loud. I thought about using some insulation board to quiet it down, but I wasn't sure about how to vent it.

So I'm looking for a new model. What I plan to use it for are:
    1) general shop stuff - cleaning, bike tire inflation, etc
    2) vacuum press veneering (I have a Joe Woodworker V2+ that requires 4.8 CFM @ 80 psi)
    3) spray finishing in the future

I've been scouring the local classifieds for about 2-3 months and haven't found what I'm looking for so I'm thinking of buying new. Right now the leading contender is the Husky Model # VT6315 (oil lubed, 30 gallon).

I think a 30 gallon is the biggest I can manage for now. I don't have a whole lot of space and I don't really want to haul a 60+ gallon compressor down to the basement.

Now, the old HF did do what I asked it to do and maybe I should just get another and deal with the noise?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks

Keep looking. I picked up a 30 year old Sears 2 HP, 25 gal, 2 cyl lubricated unit a couple of months ago ($50). It had been used little, is very quiet, and a lot more plesant to use than the PC pancake I had been using. I think it is 8.4 CFM capacity, but know it does more than I need. The oil lubricated will generally be quieter, but you need a dryer and filter if you use the air for painting or where some oil would be a problem.

The real problem is this:

"3) spray finishing in the future"

Spray needs air - lots and lots and lots of air.
    Toss out the idea of spraying finishes & you have a whole different set of rules to play by & a lot of other options available.