Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hinge boring systems

Question Hinge boring systems

Well I need to build some doors with Euro style hinges. Blum, Grass etc. I can't afford a full size machine at this point and don't have the space for it anyway. So it looks like a jig of some sort. I was looking at the CMT 333-03 drill press jig, but don't want to be limited to Blum and Salice. Do they still make different heads for this? Does anyone have experience using this jig? Last but not least. I saw a similar jig on Woodworker's Supply, I think. Any experience with this one? Thank you in advance.

Blum makes hinges for nearly every cabinet door application so I wouldnt be bothered by that limitation.
    I woodwork for a living and have a blum mini press. It bores for the inserta type hinges and also has a 7 hole line bore head. I paid 500 for it and it doesn't take up alot of space.
    I have never found a cabinet door application that blum didn't have a hinge for.
    Fullerbuilt

Unless you plan to open a door shop...

I would(did) just buy a good 35mm forstner bit and drill them on my drill press. I set up stop blocks on the dp table three inches from the edge of the door. If necessary, put a hinge in the middle for the longer doors. Drill only as deep as necessary to get the hinge to sit flat. PRACTICE ON SCRAP! I use the Blum hinges that only require the 35mm hole and have two screws that I use a#6 Vix bit to make my screw hole. Use a straight edge to align the two flat edges on the hinges to make sure they are square before you vix bit your screw holes. As another poster said, Blum makes a jig for every hole you bore in doors and drawers but they are very pricey and not needed unless you do production work.

What Cisby Sed!