Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help choosing a sander. Oscillating, dual drum, or small wide belt.

Need help choosing a sander. Oscillating, dual drum, or small wide belt.

Hi guys,

I was hoping you could give me a little advice. I'm putting my woodshop together and I need help with sander selection.

I am a general contractor and hobbyist woodworker that is looking to mainly make kitchen cabinets.

My primary goal in selecting a sander is to minimize my time spent on any given project to maximize revenue.

I currently am considering 3 very different options:

1. The jet 22/44 oscillating head sander.

2. A 24-26" dual drum sander.

3. The grizzly 15" open end wide belt sander.

Will the dual drum or the Jet give me a sufficiently smooth enough finish without a paper change that I will not have to spend too much time with the ROS. Or should I go with the small wide belt and go with a less than a minute paper change but 2 passes?

Btw, the I would love to get a larger wide belt but I am limited to single phase electric and until I am generating sufficient revenue I can not justify the expense.

Thanks in advance for your help in this matter,
    Steve

I have the Delta open end drum sander. I use 120 grit paper. The biggest issue, for me, is the vertical scratch lines that show up in the finish. I have to drop down to 100 grit with my ROS to get those scratches out and work my way up. It is best used to flatten glue up panels. I think the oscillating sander would work better for me, but not going to change now.

[QUOTE=Stephen Byrd;1599295]Hi guys,

I am a general contractor and hobbyist woodworker that is looking to mainly make kitchen cabinets.

My primary goal in selecting a sander is to minimize my time spent on any given project to maximize revenue.