Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: What *good* old power tools are worth buying?

What *good* old power tools are worth buying?

I'm at the seedling stage of woodworking, and I'd like to build a workshop in my two car garage. Since I'm young and broke, I'd like to maximize my investment by buying good tools that won't depreciate, and will perform well for a long time.

What *good* old (power) tools are worth buying?

I've heard about Oliver band saws, Walker-turner drill presses, and some of the old delta band saws. Anything else worth looking into?

ps. I'm a dentist that likes building acoustic guitars in the Martin tradition.
    I hope to get into building cabinetry like my senior dentist mentor.

General comes to mind, made in Canada.

Original Saw Company

Pistorius (Made in New York)

Wadkin/Wadkin Bursgreen

Regards, Rod.

You're question is entirely too broad. Although this forum has a crappy search engine, master it and search through threads advising startup shops. Any of the tools suggested numerous times are probably good bets, and ANY tool bought used at a decent price will not loose any of it's residual value if purchased smartly.

Focusing on name brands is a bit silly at this point IMO, and you should be focusing on the outlines of the arsenal in terms of tool type and size and power and than look for deals appropriately from there.

Julian

Quote Originally Posted by Julian Tracy View Post
    You're question is entirely too broad. Although this forum has a crappy search engine, master it and search through threads advising startup shops. Any of the tools suggested numerous times are probably good bets, and ANY tool bought used at a decent price will not loose any of it's residual value if purchased smartly.

Focusing on name brands is a bit silly at this point IMO, and you should be focusing on the outlines of the arsenal in terms of tool type and size and power and than look for deals appropriately from there.

Julian