Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The importance of face jointing before thicknessing?

The importance of face jointing before thicknessing?

Newbie here...

I have a friend that sells planed lumber to folks all the time, that they then use for projects. Most of these folks don't own a planer, thus they have my friend get the two faces ready for them.

Thing is, my friend only has a 6" jointer, and therefore doesn't face joint before planing. My friend simply runs the rough boards thru the planer until both faces are clean. If the customer needs clean edges, the edges are either cleaned up using a Festool circular saw on a track, or the edges are straight lined on a table saw that has a very high quality blade, or short boards have their edges run over the jointer.

I think I've always read it's important to face joint first, before planing....but I gotta say, my friend has never had a single complaint....and that's afer years of selling.

So...is it that important to face joint first? And if your answer is yes....are these customers simply unhappy with the results and not saying anything?

Blog Entries
    The faces of her boards are parallel but most likely, not flat. Jointers make a surface flat, planers make the other surface parallel to the reference (jointed) surface. The acceptability of lumber that is basically S2S and better will depend on the person and what they make.

There are safety reasons as well as others but I imagine there will be enough conversation abuot that. I'll just say that for me I squared lumber to make parts for most of my items so I follow the usual milling sequence. YMMV.
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 02-19-2011 at 1:21 AM.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

I am in the building supply business.. Pretty much all the S4S lumber you buy at a building supply store is planed, but not straight..