Thread: Segmented Jr Gent & Ultra Cigar pens

Segmented Jr Gent & Ultra Cigar pens

Here are two pens I just turned. The ultra cigar turned out well. It is spalted maple. The segmented one is the one I have been asking about how to do, and what kit, etc. The segmented Jr Gent didn't turn out like I wanted. But I learned a lot from it, and I will do one like this again. I love the Jr Gent kits. (I also found a place that sells em for about $7) The cap turned out great, but the other part I messed up. I did not drill perfectly straight through. That really showed up toward the small cap end. I still like it, but it could have been done so much better. It is my first try at segmented anything. The woods for the segments are maple, cocobolo, maple again, and bocote.

All comments all welcome, good or bad.
    Attached Images Attached Images

These are beautiful pens, David. The segmented one looks like a lot of work, but turned out great as did the maple pen. Your pen kits are really classy. Where did they come from?

Marc Himes

David,
    Nice job your first try at the segmented pen. Both pens are very sharp.

They both look awfully nice in the pics. Did you do the segmenting on the blank? If so, nice job for sure. Looks like a lot of work. Thanks for posting.

Outstanding David!!! Where do the Ultra cigar kits come from, they really catch the eye. Someone is going to have a happy birthday or a merry Christmas!
    Last edited by Jim Burr; 02-22-2011 at 9:22 PM.
    Your Respiratory Therapist wears combat boots