Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spraying a Finish/Paint: Before or After Cabinet Install?

Spraying a Finish/Paint: Before or After Cabinet Install?

I am in the middle of making paint-grade cabinets for my wife's craft room. I am about finished with the upper cabinets and have a brand new Earlex 5000 HVLP waiting to be unboxed and broken in. I am trying to figure out if I should spray them outside of the house and then install or install and then spray. The following facts may or may not be pertinent:

• I am a TOTAL newbie when it comes to spraying!
    • I plan on using an oil based primer and an oil based paint
    • the room is empty (no furniture, etc)
    • the room is upstairs and in an area of the house that is (currently) seldom used so odors are not much of an issue

Opinions?
    Regards,

Glen

Woodworking: It's a joinery.

i like to finish before installing.

you should unpack the sprayer and practice spraying some scraps before attempting the cabinets. i would recommend that you get some primer and paint that your going to use on the cabinets and to play with to see if its needs thinning and how it acts with the gun (you may need a different needle/nozzle). then practice on some scraps. and finally practice then some more practice.

If the walls are already painted, then you're going to have to mask them off, and the floor, and anything else you don't want to get overspray on. Hopefully you have a window you can put a box fan in and draw out cloud that's going to be created when you spray.

I'd say after you got it dialed in as David suggests, you spray them outside then install them. Too much work prepping would be spent...IMO.

I would definitely spray before installation and very highly prefer to spray before the backs are attached to the cabinet. It's much easier to get a nice finish on the inside that way.
    mark
    Mark R