Thread: Where do you get your ideas

Where do you get your ideas

I have finally screwed up enough projects that I have now been building furniture from pictures or changing a detailed plan to suit my need. I have a hard time finding exactly what I want. My design ability is greatly limited, I'm an accountant. So I am always looking for ideas, I don't like many of the plans in magazines. To find ideas I do google image searches for what I am looking for and look at lots of sites of custom furniture builders. So where do get your ideas or inspiration. Here is some of mine
    WWW.Berkeleymills.com
    WWW.Prairiespirit.com
    WWW.Eldoradowoodworks.com
    WWW.Americanfurnishings.com
    Books In the Craftsman Style, In the Modern Style and Design Book Seven.

I usually get inspired by something I see. it might be a small shape, I would think that it would look good if I placed it on -pick part of furniture- <INSERT_SPOT_ON_FURNITURE>and then I begin to develop the whole piece. Sometimes it's a single piece of furniture that inspires. I really don't try too hard. it pops and I run with it. sketching as I go. The pencil and paper are sometimes my best friend.
    Last edited by Keith Christopher; 01-25-2005 at 12:07 AM. Reason: because I spell like a cat

Wink

Keith pretty much worded my response for me. Thanks Keith!

I get many of my ideas from my wife. She takes me to a high end furniture store and points. For example, she threatened to buy a $430 Stickley factory hall tree (basically a 3x3 post on a half lap base with four added coat hooks) unless I built something as good or better. Which I did. And got off easy. That time.