Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Some work by a newbie to the Creek

Some work by a newbie to the Creek

Since I'm new to Sawmill Creek I thought I'd introduce myself through a few of my pieces, a couple older and a couple newer. I'm a retired ( two years now) art professor who taught jewelry design/metalsmithing for 27 years. I have to say that during the latter part of my career my personal interest in jewelry/metals took a backseat to fine woodworking. I'm the designer and the craftsman for all my work.
    This seems to be a great community and I have seen some terrific work here. I'm excited to be a part of it.

lowboy.jpg
    A lowboy done for Japanese clients back in the 90's. the handles are die-formed copper
    with a dark gray patina so that they resemble smooth river stones.

Beidermier resized.jpg
    This is a chest of drawers done for the same clients. At the time it was the most difficult piece of furniture I had ever attempted. I used cherry, sycamore, aspen, the pulls are steel and brass and the end pieces of the cylinders are enamel(glass) over copper.

Front1.jpg
    These days I am working on a body of work that references the Biedermeier aesthetic. This body of work is all clocks and this one is called Voluptuous Bieder.

P1000096-Edit-copy.jpg
    This one is called Dali Bieder and references the very well known painting by Salvadore Dali titled "The Persistence of Memory" The clock is carved from basswood and the numerals are cut out of sheet brass with a jewelers saw. Each numeral has pins brazed to the back and they were glued into holes drilled on the face slightly proud to reveal a shadow. This was number 17 in the series and took me close to 175 hours (although I don't really keep track of my time)
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 03-16-2011 at 12:55 AM. Reason: Removed link to personal website

Beautiful work!
    If you wrestle with a pig, you both get dirty. The pig loves it!

Blog Entries
    I suppose you go to the head of the class.