Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intro and thanks

Intro and thanks

First off I would like to say how much I appreciate this forum as the best source for all things in woodturning. From artistic turning, to equipment, to good people, this is the place!

I have been a self employed woodworker/carpenter/string instrument repairman since 1978 and even though I had a couple of different lathes, my projects were few and far between. I borrowed some woodturning videos from a friend mainly because I had no TV reception, and was exposed to HSS tools and chucks. I had one of the early blue in color Jet mini lathes that I was using to turn tool handles and soundposts for upright bases and equipped it with a chuck and better gouges. It didn't take long to want a bigger lathe. First a step pulley Rockwell then a Powermatic.

Never in all my past woodworking was the satisfaction of utilizing green, fresh wood like you often can in woodturning. This is some good fun!!

Many thanks to my new friend Dan who took a recent trip up to my shop. We had a great time working up some wood, turning, and Dan also took photos (something else to learn about) of some recent projects and has started to send some to me by email. This first form is about 6 inches tall of carob wood. The finish so far is three coats of Fornby's tung oil finish. Any comments would be appreciated. Please be gentle if you comment on the back drop.....I simply pulled the paper towels down from the over the counter towel bar

P1030592.jpg