Thread: Jet Model JWBS-14CS

Jet Model JWBS-14CS

Hi, I just purchased a used White 14" CS Jet Band Saw for a respectale $225. The previous owner thought the saw was around 6 years old? It does need some TLC. My question is can you tell the age by the serial number? Or any other way? Does anyone have any comments on this particular band saw? I am a newbie with a band saw and can use any helpful hints or ideas on how to really get to know my saw? I plan to do some re-sawing and crafting with it. What blades are the best for the uses I plan to use the saw for? I know this probably isn't the right way to ask, but before purchasing I would appreciate some help. I know you guys have been through this, and I just want to make the right choices and not have to throw away junk I would probably buy because the blade was on sale, or seemed to be a bargain. Any tid bit of information would be helpful.
    Thanks,
    Jeff

Hi Jeff,

Welcome to the creek. Don't know anything about that particular saw. Mark Duginske's book (recently updated) is a great resource. Try the search function here, as well, as there is a lot of good stuff to be had that way. Van Huskey seems to be a limitless source of information. This post by him should get you started in the right direction: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthre...bandsaw+blades.

Nelson

Not too much experience with Jet numbers, but most manufacturers list a date code adjacent or below the serial number. Some of them are pretty simple, and others require a magic decoder ring.I'd call Jet Customer Service...they are some pretty good folks, and have helped me out with tech advice.
    Mick

In the foothills of the NM Sandia Mountains
    Jeff, any relation to Steve Lautenschlager of Albuquerque/Tijeras NM?
    I worked with Steve for several years. That’s not a name you see very often.
    Please help support the Creek.