Thread: Trey Ceiling PLan

Trey Ceiling PLan

Hello Everyone ... haven't been on in a while trying to build a new home.

Have been searching everywhere on the Net for Trey Ceiling Plan. Anyone know where I might find this??

Ken, I tried to do a search and found a few possible sites that might give you some ideas but with my dial up connection it was quite slow. You might try searching "tray ceiling" instead of "trey". Also try "coffered ceiling" since in some places that's what it is called.

Ken,

I am a custom home builder so I can probably help if I know exactly what you are looking for. Unfortunatly, ceiling have drastically different names in different parts of the country. If you are looking for the ceiling that has a bunch of little boxes that is one thing. If you are looking or a ceiling that has one big box, that is another. In our area the large box is a tray ceiling. The other does not get used much but some call it a coffered ceiling although most around here consider a coffered ceiling to be one where it slopes up on all sides like a reverse hip. As you can see the nomenclature can be very confusing. Describe what you want and I will see if I can help.
    Curtis O. Seebeck
    Need Cactus Juice?

A Big Box ...

Its not the coffered ceiling ... planning that approach in my office .. used that once before and it works really well.

Ceilings are 10'rs ... like to come down about a foot (maybe use a 2x10 as the wall anchor??) then horizontal an appropriate distance and make a vertical return ... some of the ones i've seen make the inside return slanted which looked pretty nice. Others I've seen are "double treys" where it makes a couple of steps back up on the inside vertical. Some are even elliptical ...

The framing can't be that difficult ... but I am working with a diasadvantaged imagination ... don't necessarily have to have a plan ... but the need to see how its framed is absolute... so that I can draw my own plan on a grocery bag