Thread: Skim Coating MDF for Paint

Skim Coating MDF for Paint

Is it advisable to skim coat MDF with drywall mud prior to priming and painting given the porosity of MDF? I recall seeing this tip somewhere but can't seem to locate it now. My thought was that skim coating the surface will fill the pores and reduce the ability for the grain to raise and become "hairy." Note: the paint will be a SW oil based enamel. Any advise would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Brett

I'm not a pro, but I have done a few closets in painted mdf.

An oil based enamel won't raise the grain of mdf, which will only swell if exposed to a waterbased paint.

Drywall mud will make the surface brittle, and is just a mess. Sometimes people use it on the edges, which don't tend to get sanded as well as the tops which keeps them really porous.

I've found a better solution is to use shellac or a shellac-based primer like Zinsser BIN. Either will seal the MDF, will dry quickly, and will sand super smooth with a quick swipe of 220 or 320 grit sandpaper.

Then you can apply your enamel over top. I recommend a low nap or foam roller for the flat surfaces. That's the quickest route to a glassy surface (unless you will be spraying).

Thanks, Prashun. Actually, I forgot to ask about the use of the Zinsser BIN primer instead of the mud skimcoat as I've seen this recommended before as well. How many coats of primer, typically? Also, do you only sand the profiled portions of the MDF or all of the MDF?

I'm considering spraying this but have seriously considered rolling it as most of the millwork has simple profiles, some of which are just S4S stock.

Quote Originally Posted by Brett Bobo View Post
    Thanks, Prashun. Actually, I forgot to ask about the use of the Zinsser BIN primer instead of the mud skimcoat as I've seen this recommended before as well. How many coats of primer, typically? Also, do you only sand the profiled portions of the MDF or all of the MDF?