Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Harbor Freight lathes

Harbor Freight lathes

Does anyone have any experience with the lathe sold by HF. I am considering the 12 x 33 for $249.

Or what about the Shop Fox or rikon.

My shopsmith is about to give up the ghost. I'l like to spend between $200 and $400.

the delta and jet appear to be a bit on the expensive side.

chester

I have no experience with the HF, but I would think you're going to be stepping down. I think you'd be way better to get a few more bucks and keep an eye out on craigslist, and even ebay. Or maybe if you have some turners living nearby or a turning club nearby to check with them.

I have the bigger version, the 14x48, and it's okay. For as rarely as I turn, it works, but keep in mind, the threads where you would attach a new chuck are not standard. You'll need an adapter for most of the chucks out there. Also, I occasionally have problems with the tailstock getting a good grip. The tailstock uses a nut that you will need a wrench handy to lock down. Unfortunately, I've never had it stay locked down during an extended (>30 minutes) turning session ...And if I really tighten up on the tail using the hand wheel, I've been known to cause the rails to bow a little. For a basic lathe that you'll use occaionally, it works. If you're going to use it weekly or more, spend a little more and get something quality.