Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tops for Library

Tops for Library

I support our local librarys childrens Summer Reading Program with tops that are used as prizes. I have been doing this for the last 5 years. This year I will also donate a lidded box and a special top to be used as the "grand prize" for one boy and one girl. I never hear from any of the winners but I don't care as I know it promotes reading. My thanks to the library for letting me participate.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Wonderful job Terry!

Are you using the Decorating Elf on top of your tops?

I just got one and love it.
    A few hours south of Steve Schlumpf

Terry - what a great way to give back to your community! Bet the kids love the tops!

How did you color them? What finish did you use? Are they one piece or was the stem turned separate?
    Steve

“You never know what you got til it's gone!”
    Please don’t let that happen!
    Become a financial Contributor today!

Terry, great gift on your part! And, fantastic variety - I would have difficulty coming up with all the different ideas for these. I love the brightly colored ones.

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Schlumpf View Post
    Terry - what a great way to give back to your community! Bet the kids love the tops!

How did you color them? What finish did you use? Are they one piece or was the stem turned separate?
    Ditto what Steve said and maybe give some average sizes. Some really nice work.

"The best things in life are not things."

Nice! Ditto Steve's question about finishing them.

I made a couple of tops for my kids when I was starting to learn to turn. It might be time to check out the scrap box and see if I've got any potential tops in there!

Really a great effort and for a wonderful cause. Love the tops!

Wow, those are really awesome. I really never give Tops much thought - but you've really opened my eyes. Great work!

Art

Wonderful work Terry!!
    I like the colors and the wood tone pieces both! Too Cool.