Thread: Using Boeshield t-9 for TS moving parts?

Using Boeshield t-9 for TS moving parts?

I'm setting up my new Jet cabinet saw & was wondering whether spraying t-9 on the gears - trunnion area & just letting it dry as a coating is a good idea or not?

Blog Entries
    Unless it is wiped off Boeshield leaves a sticky residue that would not be good under the table where it would be exposed to sawdust.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Blog Entries
    +1 on too sticky for me. Getting all the residue off gear teeth would not be on my "want to do" list.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

What they said. You only want to leave it on when storing something then would have to get wiped off before use.

I'm not an expert on lubrication but I would think putting a lubricant on a gear on a woodworking machine would only cause the sawdust to stick to it and gum it up bad.

So is a dry lube the best for the trunnion area?

The classic lube for trunnion gears is aerosol white lithium grease. It goes on kind of like shaving cream and doesn't seem to collect too much crud. Comes with a long nozzle for getting into tight areas.

I like using a graphite spray myself.
    Have a Good One,
    Brent

SPCHT

http://www.thehardwarehut.com/catalo...p?p_ref=258904
    http://www.slipit.com/home.html
    These are the ones we use in Commercial Woodworking...Slipit and Sprayway Woodworking Lube. Spraway can be used on saw table tops and router bearings.