Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: argh! color fill blues

argh! color fill blues

hello all,

I am new to this process ( had the Trotec speedy 100 for about 6 weeks) and am having difficulties with the color fill process. I am at my wits end and am hoping someone can tell me what I may be doing wrong.

I have tried; acrylic paints, rub and buff, and gilders paste with, more or less, the same results.

I can fill plastics okay, but it is wood that is driving me up the wall.

My process is (now)-

1. sand
    2. paint/stain
    3. sand
    4. laquer
    5. sand
    6. laquer
    7. johnsons floor wax
    8. raster
    9. fill

• apply thin coat of paint
    • squeegee (with library card, etc)
    • wait 5-10 minutes
    • wipe with damp rag and either
      • have rub and buff stain every inch of surface (not just engraved area)
      • have paint not stay in engraved area but stain the entire piece
      • have paint, etc only stay in the natural grooves of the wood
      • have paint pull out of engraved area
      • or some other combination of the above

is there a step I'm missing? I have read most of the posts that I can find on this forum, and am thinking of giving up on wood at this point.

Attached a pic, sorry, its from the laptops cam.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts,
    Jonathan
    Trotec Speedy 100

attachment

pendant1.JPG here is the attachment
    Trotec Speedy 100

Jonathan,

It looks like you've done your homework. I wonder if the problem is in an interaction between the floor wax and the rub'n'buff, for instance maybe the R&B is dissolving the floor wax enough to make them stick together. They probably both use the same solvent.

Maybe you should do a test with just the lacquer and fill, no wax to eliminate this factor.