Thread: Need help with bench dogs

Question Need help with bench dogs

I will be working on my bench top this coming weekend and need to be thinking about bench dogs. I have looked at hundreds of bench pictures trying to come up with the design for my needs. Studying those pictures carefully, I have noticed quite a variety in bench dog options. There are round holes and there are square holes. There are single rows of holes and there are double rows of holes. There are holes that line only the front of the bench and there are holes that line both the front and the side of the bench. All of these options have me a little confused.

Could someone please advise me or direct me to information that will allow me to make the proper choice for my benchtop. I am a little on the newbie side of woodworking and will be doing both power tool and neander methods with future projects. I have a nice assortment of hand planes and chisels as well as a fully equiped shop of power tools. I am trying to start out right and not have look back wishing I had done it differently

Oh btw, I will have both vices on my bench top.

Any help would be much appreciated.

One piece of advise I'll give you...measure three times before you drill/cut the dog holes!! It's no fun redoing them. Trust me on that!

BTW, I went with round as I started with a pre-made bench top. Square dog holes really need to be constructed while you are building the top for best results. IMHO, of course.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...