Thread: bottle stopper help

bottle stopper help

Picture.jpg

I am new to turning bottle toppers have only turned two others that you dont see I would like to sell some of these .I am wondering what kind of finsh I should use. the ones pictured are just coated with bees wax but Im wondering if I should use something a little more durable????

Robert,

I typically use BLO to pop the grain....friction on a coat or two of dewaxed shellac and follow that with a couple coats of frictioned Deft brushing Lacquer. The solvent for shellac is alcohol so to prevent any wine from disturbing the finish, I use a final finish of lacquer. The dewaxed shellac will prevent the BLO from keeping the lacquer from adhering properly.

Once you get it down pat, I can finish a bottle stopper in 4 or 5 minutes and when the stopper comes off the lathe, it's a matter of assembling it and it's done.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

I think tat I will try your method Ken.
    I have been using the four step friction polish system, but worry about how they are holding up.
    Have you tried your way on larger items like pepper mills?

Jerry

Jerry....Yes I have used it on pepper mills and on small bowls too.

For bowls I typically will use Antique Oil. I do the Antique oil off the lathe after bowl is completely finished.

Really......I believe the friction polish is a shellac and wax mixture.

It's important to point out I use "dewaxed" shellac as a barrier between oils and anything else over it.....anything will stick to dewaxed shellac.....
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

Ken I think I will give that a try I typicaly like a nautral finish but Am conserned how that will hold up.... I have to as is there a acholol that you prfer for disoliving flakes i have seen a couple that are advertived as being better for the job?

Robert, I use Hut Crystal coat on my bottle stoppers. It is quick and easy to apply and is a very hard finish.