Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Please don't throw rocks at me.......a hand plane book question.....

Please don't throw rocks at me.......a hand plane book question.....

In the course of building an entertainment center, I found need to use one of my two handplanes. It worked well for touching up a tenon but I think it could work better.

I have no knowledge of handplanes so I just ordered a book by Garrett Hack on the subject. Is the book worth reading?

Also....Rob Cosman will be teaching a 4 hour hand plane class in my nearest WoodCraft. Even though I am deaf, I am considering taking the class. I will never be a dedicated neander but believe certain hand tool skills are necessary to be a good craftsman.

Comments or opinions?
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

I have alot of books on handplanes and find Garrett Hacks to be the best. He goes through a bit of history and "talks" at length about tuning and using various types of planes. I could have really used this book when I first started years ago. Wise decision.

PJS

Blog Entries
    Great book, and if you have the time and cash for the class I would imagine it would be a great place to learn a lot.
    Andrew Gibson
    Program Manger and Resident Instructor
    Florida School Of Woodwork

Blog Entries
    If you would like to try your hand at making a plane or two check out "Making & Mastering Wood Planes" by David Finck. It shows you how to make Krenov style wood planes.
    I'm having fun making planes from kits I bought from Steve Knight just before he stopped making planes/kits.

Ken,

I've never met Rob but have a half-dozen of his videos and, through his online hand tool coaching site, watched another dozen and I really like how he shows what he's teaching, not just talking about it. For example, in the videos he has the camera zoom in close looking down the plane base so you can see just how much camber it has or how far it is sticking out, not just talking about it.