Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bubbles in HVLP waterborne finish

Bubbles in HVLP waterborne finish

Don't know what's causing this, but I'd love some advice how to eliminate this problem. I'm getting lots of small bubbles in the finishes I'm spraying with my HVLP gun. I'm a total HVLP newbie, so I'm not sure where I'm screwing this up. I'm using a Fuji XPC gun, and a Fuji Gold 4 HVLP turbine. Using a #3 needle/aircap (1mm, .039").

The bubbles remain after the finish dries, and are permanent.

Here's a picture of how they look:

IMG_1372-for-web.jpg

Any clue as to what is causing this, and any suggestions for eliminating the problem?

Are you sure it's bubbles and not dust? Difficult to tell in the picture.
    Scott

Finishing is an 'Art & a Science'. Actually, it is a process. You must understand the properties and tendencies of the finish you are using. You must know the proper steps and techniques, then you must execute them properly.

Pretty sure it's bubbles. Sorry, cell phone picture.

Maybe air that escaped from the wood.. Light sanding and another coat should fix it.
    Scott

Finishing is an 'Art & a Science'. Actually, it is a process. You must understand the properties and tendencies of the finish you are using. You must know the proper steps and techniques, then you must execute them properly.

Alan,

Is it possible that the finish was shaken? If you shake a waterbourne finish or latex paint the bubbles stay in it all the way to the project.

What is the finish you are using?
    Howie.........

Sam, he's spraying. I think the HVLP eliminated any bubbles that may have been in the finish due to mixing...
    Scott

It's Target Coatings EM2000, though I had a similar incident with General Finishes High Performance.

New Gun/Turbine, newbie to HVLP, so I'm thinking it's a setup issue. Just don't know what.