Thread: jointing on a router table

jointing on a router table

I am trying to joint some curly maple using a router table. I am using a 1/4" straight bit and have an older craftsman router. It seems to be cutting rough and at times is hard to push the wood thru, even though I am going slow. This is my first attempt at jointing like this. Am I using the right type of bit? Can my router be losing power? Any other ideas or is this just the way it is.

A 1/2" solid carbide down spiral will give you better results. Set the out feed fence and bit to take of no more than 1/16.
    good dust collection will help, too.
    Gene
    Life is too short for cheap tools
    GH

Quote Originally Posted by Gene Howe View Post
    A 1/2" solid carbide down spiral will give you better results. Set the out feed fence and bit to take of no more than 1/16.
    good dust collection will help, too.
    I have such 1/2 inch shaft, on a Festool 1400. It performed lot worse than expected. There will be pressure on the bit. And the bit is not fastened on two sides. After buying a Hammer A31 (which works well), I have a thought on the settings:

Create a difference on the infeed and outfeed fences (infeed a little more behind the bit than outfeed is). See to that outfeed is a little bit behind the bit. That combination will be more like a jointer than only changing the infeed table to be behind the bit, and will give better results.

--- Mats ---

Mats is correct about the settings.
    Sorry my post wasn't as clear as it could/should have been.
    The out feed needs to be dead even with the cutting edge. The in feed set to take no more than a 1/16th cut.
    I've had no problem with this set up in jointing 3/4 material. Any thicker might prove problematic.
    A spiral bit is best. At least, a bit with a slight cant to the edge, like this one, would be better than a straight bit.
    Last edited by Gene Howe; 10-01-2011 at 1:46 PM.
    Gene
    GH