Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: By way of introduction.....

By way of introduction.....

I've lurked here for a couple months, and finally got registered. One of the things I love about this site is the use of real names. Anyway, I'm a semi-retired consultant, doing some highly specialized public policy work. Formerly a congressional chief of staff, before that most of my life in farming and ranching, and flying (as a natural resource pilot). My father was/is a tremendous craftsman and my wife was always after me to build things like him. I resisted for a long time, probably not wanting to hold myself to his standards. I finally gave into the urges though, and begin woodworking about 10 years ago. I make mostly furniture, craftsman inspired but with a lot of my own designs, from cherry, walnut, qs white oak and maple. I've also built/remodeled three houses for our children in the past two years, since this semi retirement begin. I'll try posting a few shop and project pictures.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Alan & Lynette Mikkelsen, Mountain View Farm Gardens & Fine Woodworking, St. Ignatius, MT. Visitors Welcome!

Alan, glad you decided to join in!! Good looking furniture, AND shop. Not sure what your dad's work looked like, but my guess is you'll leave your own legacy from the photos supplied.
    Again, glad to have you here at the Creek. Jim

Hi Alan, glad you decided to wade in! This is a great place, with great people and information. Your work and shop are very impressive and I have no doubt you will be a frequent and knowledgeable contributor.

Bob

Alan,

Welcome to the Creek. Lots of great folks here who are always willing to share. Your work and shop are impressive. Keep the pics comming.

Lou
    Procrastination.......

Maybe I'll think about that tomorrow

VERYnice! - both the work and the shop.

Bob
    Spinning is good on a lathe, not good in a Miata.