Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wall cabinet for hand tools

Wall cabinet for hand tools

I am very new to hand tools. I am starting to collect a few and I am running out of room quickly.

I would like to build a nice wall cabinet for all of my hand tools.

I have seen several of these but for the life of me I can't remember where I saw then.

I am a converted power tool junkie and at the time I saw these cabinets I did not think I would ever need on.

I am limited some to wall space. I work in 1/2 of a 2 1/2 car garage which takes away 2 walls.

Does anyone know where I can get plans or a good picture of a nice cabinet?

I can re-draw from a picture to sketchup.

Thanks

Check the Wood Whisperer web site - I recently discovered I could set my TiVo to download the video podcast / vodcast / whatever / thing, and there are archived 3 shows that discuss the design and construction of a wall-mounted cabinet for hand tools. May not be quite what you're looking for, but it may open the design process up to you and you can make up your own plans from there.

daniel
    Not all chemicals are bad. Without hydrogen or oxygen, for example, there would be no way to make water, a vital ingredient in beer.

Thanks Daniel. I can't get the Wood Whisper on tv. I have Dish and I do not see where it is offered in my package.
    I will check the web site.

Thanks.

Blog Entries
    Just got a copy of Hand Tool Essentials (from the editors of Popular Woodworking). Chris Schwarz has a design for the Arts & Crafts Tool Cabinet he made in the back of the book, instructions, bill of materials, measurements, drawings, narrative....I am thinking of making the same cabinet but a little less Arts & Crafty. This IMHO is a larger more practical cabinet with nice drawers, sections for planes....big enough to hold a decent number & variety of tools without having to have a Masters in Crossword Puzzles to get them in & out.
    Last edited by Mike Holbrook; 11-07-2011 at 8:36 PM.