Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spiral Head vs Straight Blade in a 15" or 20" planer. Which is better.

1. Spiral Head vs Straight Blade in a 15" or 20" planer. Which is better.

I just ordered a 20" planer and ordered one with the straight blades. I have been using my 12 1/2" Craftsman for about 10 years now and used my Tormek sharpening system with jointer/planer attachment to keep an keen edge on the blades. No down time, and no expense to sharpen, and no waiting for blades. How does that work with a spiral? Do you buy a back up set of blades for $1,000 bucks? I am asking because I don't know. I hear so many positive reviews about the spiral/helix or whatever, and wanted to know about them.
    So what are the advantages? And what about cost benefit ratios? You can buy a whole Tormek system with the difference in price.
    "Fine is the artist who loves his tools as well as his work."

Fine Woodworking (Winter 2012 #223) just did a head-to-head comparison of spiral vs. straight blades for planers and jointers - and they judged spiral to be significantly better. The cutters are carbide, so they last much longer than steel. And each cutter insert has 2 or 4 cutting edges, so this makes it easy to rotate one little insert if it gets a nick without changing the whole blade. And the true spiral blades - with the cutters making a shearing cut on the wood - produced a significantly better milled surface. So they thought that carbide spiral cutter heads were well worth the added cost. YMMV.
    I've measured three times, cut twice, and it's STILL too short...

I think the biggest advantage is that you don't have to change the blades again. If I recall correctly, FWW figured that the carbide cutters would last 10X longer per side than HSS straight blades. That really means 20-40X longer, since the spiral carbide cutters have 4 sides vs 1 or 2 sides for straight blades. I'm pretty sure that's a lifetime for most casual users.