Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 10,000 hours

10,000 hours

Hello all,

Was just thinking about the proposition put forth by Malcolm Gladwell and others that to truly master or to have impact in a field it takes inherent talent + 10,000 hours of practice.

I've been pursing wood enthusiastically for about 5 years now. I manage to get about 3 hours a week on average in the shop (generously). Thus, (and assuming I have some inherent talent...), I have accumulated 780 hours toward "mastery".

At this rate, I'll hit 10,000 in 59 years....

Of course there are many roads to Rome ("mastery"), but the 10,000 hour rule seems to hold some water across a bunch of endeavours. What do all y'all think, and when will you make it to "Master".

Cheers,
    Chris C.

Never. I don't think there is truly such a thing as mastering a craft. Mastering style, mastering a skill or technique, sure, but not a craft.

However, after 10k hours - yeah I bet one could master enough skills and techniques to be a Master within a craft - if that makes sense.

Don't know if I'll ever get there. I've been at this 3 years - lately I get 4-8 hours a week - sometime more, sometimes less. I'd say over three years 3 to 4 hours a week is probably a good average estimate since early on I did go through extended times where I didn't work at all for a number of weeks. That puts me at anywhere from 468 to 624 hours total. I've got a long way to go!

Gives you a goal, anyway.

Well I just completed my bench build this week, and it feels like it took me 10,000 hours. Does that make me a master? Probably not, I guess I'm supposed to actually practice for 10,000 hours...

D

That's a good description of the Japanese model for learning/mastering a craft - the master gives you a (simple) task, and you practice 12 hours a day, non-stop until you'd just about rather take a bullet to the chest than do it one more time. Then the master gives you another simple task.