Thread: Help on photo engraving

Help on photo engraving

First happy new year to all Creekers hoping you enjoy your holidays.

I have some question on foto engraving on wood.

I have a customer that want to engrave old photo on cherry wood. He sent me scanned picture in different resolutions. He wants it in size 16x14 inches.
    I run gold method in Photo shop and look good for engraving to me but like said I am no expert so all help is needed.

I have two questions.
    1. Due to big size and on fact I never did photo this size I don't have a clue how long will take for machine to do this, so don't have a clue what to charge for job. Any suggestions are welcome.

2. Technical. Should i put coat on wood before or after engraving on that big piece? Finish on which base do you recommend ( water, acrylic..)?

I will try settings on small test piece but don't believe I can calculate time from test results because of accelerating of axis.
    Thanks for help
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Shenhui laser 60W, corel Draw X5.

At 300 dpi going to take at least 30-50 min depends on your machine. If your suppling the wood min. 100.00 dollars.
    Architectural Sign Engraving ltd. (owner)

Xenetech 24" x 36" 40 Watt XLT, Xenetech Rotary's 16" x 25" Viper's
    Lap top's HP & Lenovo, Windows 7, 32bit and 64 OS.
    Xenetech XGW, Corel Draw X5, 1-Touch Photo and PhotoGrav3
    Wacom tablet, HP Scanner, BenQ Monitor 24"

Iv'e got a 60 watt chinese laser myself. It would take me 50 min for a photo that size.

Or about 11 minutes on our Trotec..... there's a photo on the Trotec reporting for duty thread that shows a tile done in 8 or 9 minutes.
    Lasers : Trotec Speedy 300 75W, Trotec Speedy 300 80W, Galvo Fiber Laser 20W
    Printers : Mimaki UJF-6042 UV Flatbed Printer , HP Designjet L26500 61" Wide Format Latex Printer, Summa S140-T 48" Vinyl Plotter
    Router : ShopBot 48" x 96" CNC Router Rotary Engravers : (2) Xenetech XOT 16 x 25 Rotary Engravers