Thread: Veritas dovetail saw question

Veritas dovetail saw question

LOML surprised me with pair of Lee Valley Veritas dovetail saws. Lovely little things, nice feel in the hand. The anonymous gurus at Lee Valley included some directions with the saws that say to stone the blades once or twice depending on number of teeth, to get burrs off the teeth for faster cutting. I've never done this with a saw before. The idea sounds a little scary to me. Can anyone suggest a technique that keeps me from screwing up the teeth??

Personally, I've found the teeth on my Veritas dovetail saws to cut perfectly out of the box. Even if there were a few burrs from sharpening, cutting a few dovetails will remove the burrs anyway. Why not make a few practice cuts to get familiar with them?
    CT

Stoning both sides of the blade equally with one or two passes will only remove the burrs leftover from the sharpening process. You will not effect the set with one or two passes. This is common procedure after sharpening your saw.

Using the saws a few times will accomplish the same thing.

The Veritas saws are gems! I have a carcass saw that cuts with the best of them--both vintage and modern. I bought the new Veritas gent's CC saw and it is equally to the task--very comfortable handle (I have the LN "broom handle" CC that is used rarely). The other day I ordered the other Veritas gent's rip saw for small dovetailing. Can't believe the price/quality ratio on these saws!
    If the thunder don't get you, the lightning will.

I simply used mine. If there was a burr present, I really didn't notice. By the time you get enough practice cuts in to get the feel of the saws, whatever burr may have been present will long be gone.